Airships, Pirates, Passion and Gone Off Cake

The title pretty much sums up what I’ve been up to over the past few weeks.

Airships and Pirates – Well that’s the wonderfully titled ‘Avast, Ye Airships’ that gets its release… drum roll… 26th February 2015 (just 3 weeks away).

I’m really pleased with the story I’ve got in this anthology. I don’t often say that. I like what I write but this one came out just as I imagined it would right from the off. It’s been another great learning experience working with Rie Sheridan Rose, the editor of the book. She’s thinned the story but in truth she has most likely improved it. Working with an American editor has also been an eye opener with regard words. We share a language but in its written form it can seem quite different.

The experience has been very good though. I am really looking forward to reading my fellow authors tales. It looks like it is going to be a great collection.

Mocha Memoir Press who are publishing it are doing a ‘Thunderclap campaign’ on the launch day. This is new to me but looks like an interesting way to promote the book.  If you are interested in joining in, here’s the link..

https://www.thunderclap.it/projects/21936-avast-ye-airships

Avast Ye Airships_Button

Passion – That was the Sunday Speakeasy group I went to. I’ve been twice now. It is basically a local group who meet up and read some of their work. It is a mixture of writers, poets and songwriters. It is that mix that makes it so interesting. It goes from comedy, to serious, to absurd, to ponderous but is always entertaining. If I told you there was talk of ‘potatoes’, ‘The Monkee’s’ and ‘loss’, to mention just a few, you get the idea.

The first time I went the theme was ‘New’ and I wrote something for it half an hour before the event (keeping it fresh and, er, ‘new’). This time I was a little more prepared and read a tale called ‘An Old Flame’. It was well received and hopefully it did what was intended – which was to catch people off guard who expected a tale of love and romance. You’ll have a chance to read it in the February issue of Far Horizons e-magazine.

I’ve alluded to this before. I get very nervous reading in front of people. This group is a kind of ‘personal training’ for me and I think it is working. Reading your work is part and parcel of getting people interested in your writing – so I keep plugging away.

Here I am in the fetching ‘Monkey’ t-shirt reading.

Sunday Speakeasy 010215

Gone Off Cake – Finally this is a small part of a project I’ve been having a go at for a children’s anthology. The book is going to be about a boy called Dayton Barnes and is aimed at 9-11 year old children. Again this is an American project. It’s been fun so far. I’m onto my second draft and have appreciated the advice I’ve had from Reneé La Viness, the editor.

As writers we put ourselves in different peoples heads constantly but I’ve found it trickier to write as a young American boy than I ever did as a wrongly accused Victorian woman being held in an asylum. Perhaps that says something about me.

Fingers crossed this story (it’s a treasure hunt) works out because I’d really like to be a part of it. Writing for this age group is something that really interests me and I’d like to get better at it.

The cake? Well lets just say that we all put things away for safe keeping and then forget where they are.

Hope to have more news soon on Dayton, maybe the big book size project and possibly paranormal steampunk activity.

Thanks for reading and sticking with me on the journey.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

